Bioness Medical Secures $15M Credit Facility
Neurorehabilitation is a chain of handoffs. A device can work as designed and still depend on regulators, clinicians, payers, care settings, and patients aligning before the technology becomes part of recovery.
Bioness Medical now has more capital to work across that chain. The Valencia, California medical-device company secured a $15M senior credit facility from Horizon Technology Finance, with $10M funded at closing and up to $5M available for future growth.
The structure matters because a credit facility is debt capacity, not a $15M equity round. Bioness says the financing adds flexibility to invest in innovation, expand its product portfolio, and serve more patients and healthcare providers worldwide, while the cost, maturity, covenants, warrants, draw conditions, and repayment schedule remain undisclosed.
What Happened
Horizon Technology Finance announced the facility on September 2, 2026. Horizon is a publicly traded specialty finance company affiliated with Monroe Capital, and it lends to venture-backed, private-equity-backed, and public businesses across technology, life sciences, healthcare, and sustainability.
The lender characterized Bioness as a commercial healthcare-technology company with a proven model and an established market position. That is Horizon's underwriting view rather than an independent rating, but it helps explain why this transaction looks different from venture debt placed behind a pre-revenue product. Bioness already sells rehabilitation technologies across hospital, outpatient, and home-care settings.
The $15M headline also needs clean accounting. Bioness received $10M at closing, while another $5M may become available later. Public materials do not explain the conditions attached to that second draw, so the undrawn amount should be treated as available capacity rather than cash already on the balance sheet.
A Commercial Platform Rebuilt Under Accelmed
Bioness has operated in neurorehabilitation for more than 20 years. Its products include L300 Go and H200 Wireless functional electrical stimulation systems, the Vector Gait & Safety System, the Bioness Integrated Therapy System, and the PoNS Portable Neuromodulation Stimulator.
The company's current chapter began when Accelmed Partners agreed to acquire Bioventus's Advanced Rehabilitation business in October 2024. Bioness says that transaction closed on December 31, 2024, and the business re-established itself as an independent company in January 2025 under the leadership of co-founder and CEO Todd Cushman.
The sale announcement put useful historical scale around the business. Bioventus said the divested operation represented approximately $50M in annual revenue and approximately $6M in annual adjusted EBITDA at the time. Those figures are not current Bioness guidance, but they show the commercial base Accelmed acquired before the company began broadening its portfolio.
Why the Product Sequence Matters
Bioness has been assembling several modes of rehabilitation rather than betting the company on one device. Functional electrical stimulation activates nerves and muscles, Vector supports gait training, BITS provides interactive therapy tools, and PoNS adds non-invasive neuromodulation through a prescription mouthpiece used alongside supervised exercise.
The PoNS acquisition in April 2026 widened Bioness's platform from peripheral stimulation toward central neuromodulation. The FDA database records a May 13, 2026 clearance for PoNS to treat dynamic gait deficits caused by chronic stroke symptoms when used as an adjunct to supervised therapeutic exercise in prescription patients age 22 and older.
That sequence puts the new capital in context. Product ownership, regulatory clearance, clinical evidence, provider training, reimbursement, and patient access are separate jobs, even when a company wants them to read as one growth strategy. The facility gives Bioness room to keep those jobs moving at the same time.
The People Carrying the Next Phase
Todd Cushman described Horizon as a lender that understood the life-sciences market and could tailor financing to Bioness's needs. He said the facility would support innovation, portfolio expansion, and the company's work with patients and providers around the world.
Bioness also added Antonella Favit-VanPelt, M.D., Ph.D., as Chief Medical Officer in June 2026. Favit-VanPelt previously served as Chief Medical Officer of Helius Medical, the former PoNS manufacturer, and Bioness says her responsibilities include development, regulatory work, reimbursement, and access. That appointment connects the acquired product to the clinical and commercial execution now sitting behind the financing.
Horizon Chief Investment Officer Paul Seitz framed the deal around flexible growth capital for companies with established positions. For Horizon, Bioness adds another healthcare borrower to a venture-lending portfolio. For Bioness, the relationship adds staged capital without disclosing the operational milestones, economics, or safeguards attached to it.
What the Credit Facility Changes
The immediate change is straightforward: Bioness has $10M more capital available now and the possibility of another $5M later. The more important question is how efficiently the company can translate that capacity across a portfolio whose products live in different clinical workflows and face different evidence and access demands.
Debt also changes the operating conversation. Equity investors can wait for value to compound, while a senior lender expects the business to meet contractual obligations on a defined schedule. Without disclosed terms, it would be speculation to judge the facility's cost or risk, but the structure places execution discipline beside the product roadmap.
For clinicians and patients, the result will be visible in narrower places than a financing headline. It will show up in the training available to a therapy team, the reimbursement path for a prescription device, the evidence supporting a treatment decision, the reliability of service, and whether a patient can continue using the technology outside a specialist center.
What This Signals for Neurorehabilitation
Neurorehabilitation companies increasingly have to connect hardware, software, clinical protocols, and market access. A broad portfolio can help a provider address more of a patient's recovery journey, but every added modality brings its own regulatory, training, reimbursement, and integration work.
Bioness is trying to build that multi-modal platform from a mature commercial base while operating under relatively new ownership. The facility is evidence that specialist debt capital is willing to finance the next stage, although it does not prove current profitability, product-level adoption, or future clinical and commercial performance.
The useful measure will be how well Bioness carries its products through the handoffs that determine real adoption. The company has funded capacity for that work now; patients and clinicians will encounter the answer in the distance between a cleared device and a rehabilitation routine that can survive outside the announcement.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much of Bioness Medical's $15M credit facility was funded at closing?
Horizon Technology Finance funded $10M at closing. Up to $5M remains available for future growth, although the public announcement did not disclose the conditions for drawing that additional capacity.
What will Bioness Medical use the financing for?
Bioness Medical says the facility adds flexibility to invest in innovation, expand its product portfolio, and serve patients and healthcare providers globally. The company did not disclose a project-by-project allocation.
What does Bioness Medical do?
Bioness Medical develops neurorehabilitation technologies spanning functional electrical stimulation, robotic gait support, interactive therapy, and non-invasive neuromodulation. Its products are used across hospital, outpatient, and home-care settings.
Why does the PoNS system matter to Bioness Medical's strategy?
Bioness acquired PoNS in April 2026 to add central neuromodulation to a portfolio already built around functional stimulation and rehabilitation technology. FDA records show a May 2026 clearance for a chronic stroke-related gait indication when PoNS is used with supervised therapeutic exercise in prescription patients age 22 and older.
Who backs Bioness Medical and who provided the credit facility?
Accelmed Partners backs Bioness Medical after acquiring the Advanced Rehabilitation business from Bioventus. Horizon Technology Finance, an affiliate of Monroe Capital, provided the $15M senior credit facility.
Where the Money Moved
The intelligence briefing of the innovation economy. Funding, M&A, debt and fund closes, read as market signal rather than deal announcements.
Subscribe to Where the Money Moved