GT Metabolic Gets J.P. Morgan Backing for Magnetic Surgery
A larger magnet now has a defined place in GT Metabolic Solutions' U.S. product range. September's FDA clearance for specified stomach-to-small-bowel connections gives the medical-device company another practical assignment: help surgical teams learn where the technology fits and how to introduce it into their work.
GT Metabolic's October 28, 2026 Series C growth investment, led by J.P. Morgan Life Sciences Private Capital, will support that commercial effort. The amount was undisclosed. The company says proceeds will fund its global launch, product development, surgeon training and expansion into additional surgical and therapeutic settings, including planned endoscopic and colorectal applications.
The financing brings an institutional investor into a business founded by CEO Thierry Thaure and CMO Michel Gagner. Its wider significance sits in the work surrounding the device: a magnetic connection has to become a technique that another surgical team can understand, use within its authorized scope and follow over time.
What GT Metabolic's Series C will support
GT Metabolic develops magnetic compression systems for anastomosis, the creation of a connection between internal structures such as sections of the gastrointestinal tract. The company describes the investment as its first institutional financing partnership. It has not disclosed a valuation, a complete investor syndicate or a new total for capital raised.
That leaves the use of proceeds carrying more information than the size of the check. Commercial expansion, clinical education and further development appear together in the announcement because the company is taking an established device concept into more clinical settings. Planned work in endoscopic and colorectal surgery remains a development direction; it should be read separately from the specific indications already authorized.
J.P. Morgan Life Sciences Private Capital invests across early-stage biotherapeutics and late-stage healthcare. Its latter mandate includes medical devices and Series B through pre-IPO businesses. GT Metabolic therefore sits within a stated investment remit, while the undisclosed transaction terms leave the economics of this particular investment private. For operators reading the announcement, the useful question concerns the organization being financed: how much education, support and development must accompany each expansion of the product's reach?
How magnetic compression changes the surgical connection
GT Metabolic's system uses paired magnets to compress tissue between two gastrointestinal segments. A connection develops while tissue heals around the devices; the magnets subsequently detach and pass from the body. The FDA's original De Novo review describes a process developing over approximately 7-21 days, giving the product a different clinical explanation from an immediately constructed stapled or sutured connection.
The connection method also needs precise language. A staple-free anastomosis does not mean that every part of a combined operation avoids staples or surgical access. Auralia's description of using MagDI alongside a gastric sleeve explicitly says the sleeve still uses standard surgical staples on the stomach. The claimed change belongs to a defined part of the procedure, and readers should understand that boundary before considering broader descriptions of minimally invasive surgery.
The company calls its approach delayed anastomosis technology. That name puts healing time inside the product's mechanism, which helps explain why adoption includes instruction and follow-up. Hospitals are introducing a sequence of care around a device, rather than simply replacing one item in a supply cabinet. The commercial interpretation follows from that sequence: practical knowledge becomes part of what a new clinical site needs from the supplier.
What the FDA clearances establish
GT Metabolic received its initial De Novo authorization in July 2024. A June 4, 2026 clearance covers the specified MagDI system for side-to-side anastomoses throughout the small bowel in minimally invasive and laparoscopic surgery. A September 16, 2026 clearance covers 60mm and 70mm magnets for side-to-side gastroileostomy or gastrojejunostomy, connections from the stomach to specified parts of the small intestine.
Both 2026 labels specify adults older than 21 and state that effects on weight loss were not studied. Those documents establish particular intended uses and regulatory determinations. Claims about comparative outcomes, broader therapeutic benefits or future indications require their own supporting evidence, so the financing announcement should not expand the label by implication.
The June clearance letter also sets out postmarket surveillance obligations. Enrollment and reporting requirements place continuing evidence collection alongside commercialization, a consequential detail for a company expanding the number of teams using its products. The capital arrives as GT Metabolic is broadening its product range while continuing the clinical and regulatory work attached to it. Investors can fund that work; the studies and clinical teams still have to carry it out.
Why surgeon education belongs in the expansion plan
GT Metabolic's company history dates its founding to May 2020, after Thierry Thaure and Michel Gagner reconnected in 2019. The pairing joins medical-device business experience with the surgical development behind magnetic compression. Their current leadership roles preserve that division of responsibility: Thierry Thaure as CEO and Michel Gagner as CMO, both cofounders.
A provider's account shows how the knowledge reaches another team. Auralia Private Hospital in Dublin reports performing its first local MagDI cases on September 25, 2026, with Michel Gagner joining John Loy to proctor them. Auralia describes a path involving an earlier masterclass and GT Metabolic training and proctorship. That is concrete evidence of introduction at a new site, with the account attributable to the hospital performing the work.
Auralia also describes the evidence as still developing, with small studies and follow-up of 1-2 years. Its experience illustrates the practical expansion process without settling comparative clinical performance or hospital economics. As GT Metabolic puts the Series C investment to work, its reach will depend partly on reproducing those teaching relationships across more sites. Each new team needs the device, the appropriate instruction and a way to keep learning from the patients returning through its doors.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why is surgeon training part of GT Metabolic's funding plan?
GT Metabolic says the investment will support surgeon training alongside product development and global commercialization. Auralia's account of introducing MagDI describes training and proctorship before its September 2026 cases, illustrating the practical work involved at a new site.
How does magnetic compression create an intestinal connection?
Paired magnets compress tissue between gastrointestinal segments while a connection develops and tissue heals around the devices. The magnets subsequently detach and pass from the body; the FDA review describes a process of approximately 7-21 days.
What changed in GT Metabolic's U.S. device clearances in 2026?
A June clearance covers the specified MagDI system for side-to-side connections throughout the small bowel. A September clearance covers 60mm and 70mm magnets for specified stomach-to-small-bowel connections, with both labels limited to adults older than 21.
Do the FDA clearances establish a weight-loss benefit?
The 2026 labeling states that effects on weight loss were not studied. The authorizations define specified anastomosis uses and should not be treated as a broad finding of weight-loss efficacy or comparative superiority.
How much did GT Metabolic raise in its Series C?
The October 28, 2026 announcement did not disclose the investment amount or valuation. It identified J.P. Morgan Life Sciences Private Capital as the growth investor and described commercialization, training and development plans.
Where the Money Moved
The intelligence briefing of the innovation economy. Funding, M&A, debt and fund closes, read as market signal rather than deal announcements.
Subscribe to Where the Money Moved
